Composition of UPSC

The UPSC is the essential recruitment agency in India. It is a liberal constitutional body created by the constitution of India.

The UPSC comprises of:

  • A chairman and additional members appointed by the president of India.

Total number of members:

  • Generally, there are nine to eleven members incorporating the chairman of the commission.


  • 50% of the population of the members of the commission ought to have held the responsibility of the commission for about ten years either under the government of India or the government of a state.
  • The chairman and the other members hold the office for a period of six years or till the time they turn 65 in age.
  • The constitution authorizes the president to verify the state of the service of the chairman and other members of the commission.
  • There is possibility of their removal from the commission as per the rules stated in the constitution.

Present composition of the members of UPSC:

Chairman: The current chairman of the UPSC commission is Deepak Gupta who is a retired IAS officer of Jharkhand cadre and the younger brother of former Home Secretary, Madhukar Gupta.

List of the additional members of UPSC:

  • Smt. Alka Sirohi (IAS-Madhya Pradesh Cadre)
  • Prof David R Syiemlieh(Academician, Former VC of R G University)
  • Shri Manbir Singh (ex-IFS)
  • Vice Admiral D K Dewan (Retd.)AVSMPVSM
  • Shri Vinay Mittal (Former Railway Board Chairman)
  • Dr (Smt) P Kilemsungla(Indian educationist)
  • Shri Chhatar Singh (Former Prin Sec to Haryana CM)
  • Hem Chandra Gupta (Former Professor, IIT Delhi)
  • Arvind Saxena (Former Director and Ex-officio Special Secretary, Aviation Research Centre (ARC)
  • Prof(Dr)Pradeep Kumar Joshi (Former Chairman of Chhattisgarh & Madhya Pradesh Public Service Commission)